Today is the day that God has made; Let us rejoice and be glad in it.

My time in high school

Attended high school in the

Overall high school experience
2/10.  Massive depression. Dysfunctional family.

Grades in high school
Mostly A's. Don't remember.


Favorite subjects
Science, Math, Foreign Language, History / Social Studies, English

Struggled with...
Home Economics. I was pissed off as hell that it was required because I am female. I practiced the fine arts of cooking, sewing, and bicycle and auto maintenance at home - why also at school?

Favorite extracurricular
Cultural / Language

Life since high school

My worth as a human being is no longer defined by my work, my employer, my income, my college “pedigree,” or even having grown up in Palo Alto.

Attended college / university at
Northwestern University, Evanston, Illinois

Majored in
BA, Political Science / Economics.

Post-graduate education or training
Florida International University, Miami, Florida. Information Systems Management.

Places lived in US
California, Florida, Oregon, New York, Illinois

Places lived outside the US
Germany, Brazil, Bahamas.

Current occupations / past occupations
Culture surfer, outdoor enthusiast and citizen activist.

Industries I've worked in
- Nonprofit
- Public Administration (e.g. Government, Police, Judicial, etc.)
- Accommodation and Food Services
- Administrative and Support Services
- Finance and Insurance
- Information (e.g. Publishing, Film, Broadcast, Telecommunications, Libraries)
- Transportation and Warehousing
- Utilities

Did your education prepare you for your career or occupation?
Yes and no. Palo Alto provided fantastic academic preparation. After I got out of educational institutions, I was completely unprepared for the sexism.

Has your education or career/occupation trajectory ever changed? How?
Yes. I worked in information systems and data analysis. After becoming disabled, I have found very fulfilling ways to occupy my time within my abilities. 

A little introspection...

To me, being successful means...
Living and loving on my own terms, within my means in the company of beloved family and friends.

My definition of success has changed over time. 
My worth as a human being is no longer defined by my work, my employer, my income, my college "pedigree," or even having grown up in Palo Alto.

My greatest accomplishment to date and what I’ve learned from it
Raising two wonderful human beings. Among many other things, I have learned what "being in love" is actually like.

My biggest mistake or regret so far and what I’ve learned from it
Trying to move my kids to [state across country] without consulting with them or their other parent. I learned that when making decisions, it is important to get input from all parties concerned. 

An unexpected event that significantly changed my life and how it impacted me
I crashed after a 6-month manic episode and was diagnosed bipolar. I have learned to accept downward mobility, low income, disability and mentally ill status and still thrive on my own terms. My eyes have been opened to many worlds outside my bubble. This didn't all happen overnight, mind you.

My favorite spot in or around Palo Alto

Skyline Boulevard