Living My Dream, Not Yours!

My time in high school

Attended high school in the

Overall high school experience
10/10. School, although challenging, was fun and a great experience.

Grades in high school
A's and B's. If I received lower than a B, I would have privileges taken away!


Favorite subjects
English, Performing Arts, Wood work and ceramics

Struggled with...
Math. I love math and I took Pre Calc in HS, but I've always been slower at comprehending it...go figure!

Favorite extracurricular

Life since high school

My greatest accomplishment was being the first to graduate college in my immediate family!

Attended college / university at
I was accepted into 4 year universities after HS, but decided to stay home and go to Foothill College. It was the best decision for me at that time! After Foothill, I was supposed to attend BYU Hawai'i, but decided to stay around home. I received my Bachelor degree from Cal State Hayward.

Post-graduate education or training
I've completed juvenile corrections and probation officer training. I still want to complete my Masters! One day!

Places lived in US

Current occupations / past occupations
I am currently a Deputy Probation Officer, a wife and a parent! I've been in probation for 9 years. Before that I was in Special Education for 5 years and Recreation PT for about 15 years!

Industries I've worked in
- Utilities
- Educational Services
- Arts, Entertainment, and Recreation
- Public Administration (e.g. Government, Police, Judicial, etc.)

Did your education prepare you for your career or occupation?
No. It's the on the job experiences that prepare you. I'm continually learning on how to become a better Deputy Probation Officer!

Has your education or career/occupation trajectory ever changed? How?
I went to college hoping to be an Athletic Trainer. I ended up majoring in Recreation and Community Services. Now I'm working in law enforcement/counseling!

A little introspection...

To me, being successful means...
achieving YOUR dream and nobody else's!

My definition of success has changed over time. 
I've matured. When your young, there's peer pressure to be as good or better than the next student. At [high school name omitted], I wanted to take advanced classes because it was the thing to do, not because I really wanted to do it on my own. Now I do things because I want to...not because it's the cool thing to do!

My greatest accomplishment to date and what I’ve learned from it
I have many accomplishments in my life. My greatest accomplishment was being the first to graduate college in my immediate family!

My biggest mistake or regret so far and what I’ve learned from it
My greatest regret was not continuing with my Masters degree after obtaining my bachelors degree. I learned that I need to listen to my mom and that I should have completed it before my first child was born!

An unexpected event that significantly changed my life and how it impacted me
Growing up, I never worried about skin color. Everyone was equal in my eyes until a classmate told me in high school that I wasn't half black. He stated that I was white because I was so light. At the time it hurt because we are the same ethnicity, but he's just darker than me. I spoke to him about it about 10 years ago and he apologized. He was probably joking at the time, but it left a mark in my heart. 

Anything else you'd like to share?
PA is getting so much negative attention lately. I know that my mom loved being raised in Palo Alto as did I!

This alumni is open to your questions and follow-ups.
In order to protect anonymity, we will pass along your message and they can choose whether to respond.

My favorite spot in or around Palo Alto

The Edge! lol [now closed]